LOSING THE REPUBLIC

Image

Meanwhile the nation is celebrating its 64th republic day anniversary; I am having a relaxing Saturday with Delhi Times and a cup of tea. Though I did plan to go to India Gate to see the parade but  it felt like too much of an effort when I woke up this morning.
Now since it is natural for every Indian to feel a bit patriotic on this day, I updated my song playlist with A.R. Rehman’s “Vande Matram” which is currently playing in loop. Then I started pondering on the meaning of a Republic.
 “ A state where power lies with the people and the elected representatives”
Well, I know about the elected people, The M.Ps, MLAs , they definitely posses power.
What about the people?? Let me think more.
Yes, few of them have power to get their work done before anyone else.
Few have the power to RAPE.
Few with the power to deal with the twisted law system
few with the power to put the voices down
and sometimes few with money have the power to even rule the elected representative.
So now  it explains how the supreme power reaches back to public
FEW, RICH, CORRUPT who defines republic for the rest